This series is published in English on issues related to the European and international outlook, and in Italian on issues related to the European and Italian outlook.

Scientific Advisory Councilfor the English edition:
Michel Albert, “Secrétaire perpetuel” of the Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques, Paris
Jérome Bindé, Director, Division of Foresight, Philosophy and Human Sciences, UNESCO, Paris
Robert Blinc, J. Stefan Institute, Ljubljana
Raimondo Cagiano de Azevedo, Faculty of Economics, University “La Sapienza”, Rome, and Director of CIFE (Italian Center for European Education), Rome
Gerry Dickinson, Professor Emeritus of international insurance, Cass Business School, City University, London
Ricardo Diez-Hochleitner, Honorary President, The Club of Rome, Madrid
Orhan Guevenen, Chairman of the Governing Board of the Council of Europe Development Bank, University of Paris, Bilkent University, Ankara, Unesco Executive Council, Paris
Garry Jacobs, CEO and Member of the Board of Trustees of the World Academy of Art and Science and Vice-President, The Mother’s Service Society, Pondicherry, India.
Patrick Liedtke, Former Secretary General and Managing Director of The Geneva Association, London
Mircea Malitza, President, University of the Black Sea, Bucharest
Vincenzo Marigliano, Director, Department of Sciences of Ageing, University “La Sapienza”, Rome
Nicola Pangher, Director Research and Development and Member of the Board, ITALTBS SpA, Trieste
Krunoslav Pisk, Director of the Interuniversity Centre Dubrovnik, professor of Physics, Zagreb.
Sandro Salvati, Head of the Scientific Steering Committee of ANIA
Ivo Šlaus, Croatian Academy of Sciences and Art and Rud¯jer Boškovic´ Institute, Zagreb
Giorgio Stanta, International Centre for Genetic Engeneering and Biotechnology, professor of Molecular Pathological Anatomy, University of Trieste
Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker, Member of the German Bundestag and Chairman of the Environmental Committee, Berlin
Raoul Weiler, Applied Biological Sciences Centre, Antwerpen
Anders Wijkman, Member of the European Parliament and Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences, Stockholm
Markku Wilenius, Director, Finland Futures Research Centre, Turku School of Economics and Business Administration, Turku

Editorial and Scientific Director: Aldo Dobrina, University of Trieste
Associate Editor: Asghar Zaidi, University of Southampton

Editor: The Risk Institute – Istituto del Rischio – Director: Orio Giarini – 12, rue Le Corbusier – 1208 Geneva, Switzerland / via della Torretta, 10 – 34121 Trieste, Italy – e-mail:

Site: – English edition e-mail: